Complete List of all the Edo State Governors till date and biography

When was Edo State Created?

Edo State was created on the 27th of August 1991. It was created when Bendel State was divided into Edo and Delta State.

How many Governors has ruled Edo State since creation of the state?

10 governors have ruled Edo state since its creation. The outcome of the September 19, 2020 Governor election of the state will determine if the number will remain the same or increase.

List of Governors of Edo State

  • COL. JOHN EWEREKUMOH YERI (August 1990 – January 1992)

Colonel John Ewerekumoh Yeri is a Nigerian soldier that served as Military governor of Bendel state between 1990 and 1991. He remained the governor of the state until January 1992 when the then Military President General Ibrahim Babangida divided Bendel state into two – Edo and Delta states.

Yeri is the first military governor of Edo state and he played a vital role in helping the state move smoothly from military to civilian government.

  • John Odigie-Oyegun (January 1992 – November 1993)

John Odigie Oyegun was born in Warri, Delta State on August 12, 1939. He served as the first national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Nigeria.

Chief John Oyegun was elected as civilian governor of Edo State from SDP platform, he ruled from January 1992 to November 1993.

He was removed from office after General Sani Abacha seized power.

  • Colonel Mohammed Onuka (9 December 1993 – 14 September 1994)

Col. Mohammed Abdul-Salam Onuka took over from the Civilian Governor of the state as the Military Administration of Sani Abacha began. He served as Military Administrator of the state from December 9th 1993 to September 14th 1994.

  • Colonel Bassey Asuquo (14 September 1994 – 22 August 1996)

Colonel Bassey Asuquo is from Odukpani Local Government Area, Cross River State. He served as the military governor of Edo state from 14 September 1994 – 22 August 1996. Before this appointment, he had served as the Military Administrator of Delta State between December 1993 and September 1994.

  • Group capt. Baba Adamu Iyam (August 22 1996 – August 7, 1998.)

Group Captain. Baba Adamu Iyam became the Military Governor on August 22 1996, he occupied this position till August 7, 1998. As soon as he was appointed, he sacked 8,000 Edo state workers from service. In February 1997, he stopped all grants going to Edo State University, Ekpoma, he was of the opinion that government shouldn’t be expected to fund universities.

  • Navy captain A.I. Onyearugbulem (August 7 1998 till 29 May, 1999)

Onyearugbulem didn’t rule for long. Navy Captain Onyearugbulem suspended the Oba of Benin after accusing the Oba of endorsing his rival.

Anthony Ibe Onyearugbulem was born on 9 July 1955 in Owalla Avuvu in Ikeduru, Imo State.

  • Chief Lucky N. Igbinedion (29 May, 1999 – 29 May, 2007)

Lucky Nosakhare Igbinedion became the governor of Edo state under the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on May 29th 1999 after democracy returned.

He was born on 13 May, 1957. He ruled the state from 1999 to May 29, 2007. During his reign, he was known as the action governor when he cleared the salaries owed Edo state workers especially staffs of Observer for 19 months.

After he left office, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission declared him wanted on January 2008 on 142 counts of financial fraud. The allegations was that he embezzled 24 million dollars i.e 12 million pound using fake companies.

  • Prof. Oserheimen Osunbor (29 May 2007 – 11 November 2008)

Prof was born on October 5, 1951 in Iruekpen the present day Esan West Local Government Area of Edo State.

On May 29, 2007, PDP produce Prof. Oserheimen Osunbor as the governor of Edo state. He serve as ther Civilian Governor of the state from May 29, 2007 to November 11, 2008. His tenure was cut short after his election was nullified by the Nigerian Supreme Court.

  • Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole (12 November, 2008 – 11 November, 2016)

Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole was born on 4 April 1952, he was the former national chairman of the All Progressive Congress. Oshiomhole previously served as the president of the Nigeria Labour Congress from 1999 to 2007 and as the executive governor of Edo State, Nigeria from 2008 to 2016.

As APC national chairman, he was suspended from office by the Abuja Court of Appeal on 16 June 2020.

  • Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki (Incumbent)

Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki was born on 1 July, 1957 in Benin City, Nigeria. He is currently serving as the Executive Governor of Edo State. He was the Chairman of the Edo State Economic and Strategy Team inaugurated by former Governor Adams Oshiomole in March 2009.

So there you have it, complete LIST OF EDO STATE GOVERNORS TILL DATE.

Would you like us to write about your state? Let us know in the comment section.

We would keep updating on more local and international events, ensure you subscribe to this website for direct updates. Subscription is free.

If you liked this article, then please subscribe to our website using your email for more current affairs. Subscription is free.

You can also find us on our

Facebook Page-Click Here

Twitter Page-Click Here

Leave a Comment